Three CSD Directors To Take Oath

Directors of the Big Bear City Community Services District will be sworn in during the board’s reorganization meeting at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, December 17. (File Photo by BCCCSD)

By Michael P. Neufeld

Big Bear City, CA – The oath of office will be administered December 17 to three CSD directors.

Karen Oxandaboure

Karen Oxandaboure, Paul Terry and Larry Walsh will be sworn into office during the 5:30 p.m. meeting, which will be held at the Big Bear City Community Services District’s headquarters at 139 East Big Bear Boulevard in Big Bear City. Immediately following the swearing in ceremony the board will select a president and vice president.


Paul Terry

KAREN OXANDABOURE collected 49.52 percent of the November 6 vote, running for a short term on the board against three other candidates — Al Ziegler, Bob Ybarra and Joseph Kelly. Oxandaboure — who was appointed to a CSD vacancy in June 2011 tallied 1,867 votes while Ziegler got 762 votes (20.21%), Ybarra 629 votes (16.68%) and Kelly 512 votes (13.58%).

PAUL TERRY successfully ran for reelection to a full 4-year term on the board. He was first elected in 2010. Terry, who currently serves as Vice President of the board, chalked up 2,634 votes (44.33%) in the November 6 balloting. He was one of three candidates for two slots on the CSD board.

Larry Walsh

LARRY WALSH, who was appointed in June 2011 to a board vacancy, was also elected to a full term. Walsh had 2,321 votes (29.06%) and defeated Marge McDonald for the second seat. McDonald had 987 votes (16.61%) in the November 6 election.

The three join John Green and Jeff Newsome as CSD board members. The CSD staff is headed by Robert Hopkins who was named general manager effective February 13 by the five board members.


The CSD board will also discuss formation of an ad hoc committee for negotiating employee contracts and could vote to form the committee.



Comments are closed.