UPDATE: Rutherford Chairs Board Of Supervisors

Janice Rutherford now chairs the San Bernardino County Board of Supervisors. (Photo by Michael P. Neufeld)

By Michael P. Neufeld

UPDATE – Tuesday, January 8 – 4:56 p.m.

San Bernardino, CA – Janice Rutherford has been elected chair of the Board of Supervisors.

Rutherford’s selection was unanimous as was the selection of Supervisor Gary Ovitt to serve as vice chairperson. The two will serve for two years.

It is a privilege to be selected to serve as chair,” Rutherford stated during her comments following her January 8 election. “The board has made tremendous strides over the past two years to focus on County Vision and to restore faith in county government.

I pledge to continue those efforts with the help and support of my colleagues,” Rutherford emphasized. “I also look forward to reachingĀ  out to county employees and listening to their ideas for further progress in the services we provide for residents and taxpayers.”


Josie Gonzales

Outgoing chair Josie Gonzales was commended for her two years as the board’s chair.

You have been an outstanding leader,” Rutherford told Gonzales, “and an outstanding mentor. It will be impossible to bring the kind of heart and poignancy to the chairmanship that you did.”



San Bernardino, CA – Janice Rutherford is the new chairperson of the San Bernardino County Board of Supervisors.

Rutherford, who represents the second district and most of the mountain communities, was elected unanimously, succeeding fifth district supervisor Josie Gonzales. Fourth District Supervisor Gary Ovitt was unanimously elected vice chairperson.

Rutherford was elected to the board in November 2010 and is a former member of the Fontana City Council.


Comments are closed.