LAKE GREGORY YACHT CLUB: Sails To SCYA Club Of The Year Honors

LGYC Award Photo
Members of the Lake Gregory Yacht Club celebrate being selected — for the third year in a row — as the Southern California Yachting Association’s “Club Of The Year.” (Contributed Photo)

By Michael P. Neufeld

Crestline, CA – News that the Lake Gregory Yacht Club (LGYC) won the 2016 Club of the Year award from the Southern California Yachting Association (SCYA) traveled back to Crestline and the shores of Lake Gregory faster than someone claiming the America’s Cup (Auld Mug). . .the oldest international sporting trophy.

SCYA-LogoThis is the third consecutive win for the members of LGYC.

SCYA presents Club of the Year awards in three categories: senior, regular and associate. Lake Gregory sailed to the top in the associate category after being judged with other SCYA clubs on 15 different categories.


The award was presented by 2017 SCYA Commodore Simon Dekker at the recent LGYC officer installation dinner at San Diego’s Silver Gate Yacht Club.

LGYC LogoLGYC Commodore Patty Schwartz accepted the award and issued the following statement:

This is very much a surprise to receive this award for the third time in a row! “The members of LGYC are rightfully proud of what they have accomplished. It takes commitment and energy to accomplish what this club has and I thank all the members for their efforts.”


Those installed in San Diego were Commodore Marsha Philippe; Vice Commodore Shelli Wimmer; Rear Commodore Art Dixon; Jr. Staff Commodore Patty Schwartz; Treasurer Stephen Tilden; Secretary Claire Wimmer; Assistant Secretary Jennifer Tilden; Fleet Captain Dawn Dixon, and Membership Marlyn Dinon.


For additional information visit LAKE GREGORY YACHT CLUB online.